Headline Round-Up

Share Button

 

 

Politics Makes Strange Bedfellows

We’re all for new and interesting retailer-designer collaborations, especially when they net us something fun to wear. Certainly falling into both the “new” and “interesting” categories is Urban Outfitters’ partnership with Comedy Central on the Indecision 2012 Collection. Including tees, glassware, pins, and a poster, the tongue-in-cheek election line has something for fans of both Stephen Colbert’s The Colbert Report and The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. No need to choose sides.

 

 

 

Read It For The Pictures

Following the international success of his seminal street style blog, The Sartorialist, as well as his 2009 book of the same name, Scott Schuman continues his photographic exploration of style with the release of The Sartorialist: Closer. This second tome, according TheSartorialist.com, “looks deeper and with great breadth at human style, and the way it is expressed across the world.” Available for pre-order now via Amazon, the title will be released August 29th. Choose the paperback edition ($17.64) or a deluxe limited edition ($141.75) if you’re really looking to wow the fashion lover in your life.

 

 

 

DVF Tops Wintour on Forbes Power List

Finally, Diane Von Furstenberg is the 33rd most powerful woman in the world, according to Forbes’ latest list, released this week. Followed by Anna Wintour at 51, Miuccia Prada at 67, and Gisele Bundchen at 83, all rankings were determined through an analysis of three key factors: money, media, and impact. Of course, the full list features many more influential and accomplished women, not just those who relate to the world of fashion. We recommend a visit to Forbes.com to peruse their fascinating findings. (Spoiler alert! Angela Merkel, Chancellor of Germany, has earned the top spot for the second year in a row.)

 

 

(Photo credits, from top: 1. US.UrbanOutfitters.com, 2. Amazon.com, 3. Blog.Newsok.com)

 

Share Button